Coleman Movers & Shakers — FLAGGL Announces New Officers and Board Members for FY 2018

December 7, 2017

By Bob Coleman
Editor, Coleman Movers and Shakers

Coleman Movers & Shakers — FLAGGL Announces New Officers and Board Members for FY 2018

“I am honored to have been elected as next year’s Chair,” says Deborah Petrell of Florida First Capital Finance “This is an exciting time to oversee the organization’s strategic activities,” she said. “I would also like to thank Richard Von Minden of United Community Bank for his dedication to and leadership of FLAGGL over the last two years.”

Additionally, FLAGGL announced Officers for 2018, which include: Victor Diaz, Esq. of Starfield & Smith, PC, who was selected as Chairperson-Elect; Lynne Singletary of Bank United Small Business Finance, who was elected Treasurer; and Sandra Anderson of Sunshine State Economic Development Corporation (SEDCO), who retained her position as Secretary.

Board Members for 2018 include: Ray Drew of ReadyCap Lending; Teresa Galloway of American Momentum Bank; Marianne Keehan of TD Bank; Richard McClintock of Chase Business Banking; Rick Von Minden of United Community Bank; Vinny Muratore of Stone Bank; and Fred Schmid of Fidelity Bank.

FLAGGL provides networking and education opportunities and promotes awareness of all SBA government guaranteed lending programs to the small business community throughout Florida.

Sunshine State EDC Names Brooke Marks President and CEO

Clearwater-based SEDCO provided $26 million in SBA 504 funding last year,

Projects ranged from day care facilities and preschools to hotels and franchise restaurants, including a couple of Culver’s, a fast-casual “butterburger” chain.

“The loans are an economic development tool,” says Marks.

“We are required by the SBA to monitor job growth. With every deal, we do we ask how many jobs you have now and how many are planned. We are required by the SBA to create one job for every $65,000 in loans and in manufacturing, one job for every $100,000 in loans.”

Marks is a veteran financial institution leader who joined Sunshine State 18 months ago. She succeeds former president and CEO E.J. McCargar as part of a succession plan.

Independent Bank Earns SBA Preferred Lender Designation

“Preferred Lender status is the highest designation awarded by SBA to banks that demonstrate a history of prudent SBA lending and strong credit culture,” explains Peggy Smolen, Vice President of Marketing & Communications at Independent Bank. We are very proud of our community lending practices, and believe our status with the SBA will accelerate our ability to foster growth and energize local businesses.”

“We’re proud to make an impact on the communities we serve, through high-performance, purpose driven banking,” states Chief Lending Officer Brian Hobart.

“And the SBA Preferred Lender Program is the perfect accompaniment to Independent Bank’s local-lending initiatives. Executive Vice President, Tommy Forsythe leads a successful program for our organization while delivering added value to our customers.

Upcoming SBA Lending Professional Industry Events

Southeastern Small Business Lenders Conference, March 7-9, Asheville

Mid-America Lender’s Conference, April 15-17, Fort Worth

America West, June 20-22, Costa Mesa

America East, August 1-3, National Harbor, MD

11th Annual Secondary Market Summit, December 4, 2018, Washington D.C.